
Shaken Baby Syndrome Prevention 
Training Requirements for Certified Child Care  

 
Shaken Baby Syndrome (abusive head trauma) is a severe form of brain injury that 
occurs when an infant or young child is shaken forcibly enough to cause the brain to 
rebound against his or her skull. An estimated 1,200 to 1,400 children are injured or 
killed by shaking every year in the United States. Over 300 babies a year die from being 
shaken in the United States. Wisconsin's Prevent Violence Against Children Act requires 
child care providers and preschool teachers to attend a DCF–approved in-person/face-
to-face training on Shaken Baby Syndrome Prevention (SBS). All caregivers/providers 
providing care and supervision in certified settings must complete the training 
requirement if the program is approved to care for children under age 5. 

Training Requirements  

An in-person/face-to-face training must be completed in order to meet the requirements 
specified in the law.  The training uses a curriculum developed jointly by the Children's 
Trust Fund (CTF) and the State agencies that preceded the Department of Children and 
Families. This in-person/face-to-face training must be taught by someone who attended 
an SBS Prevention "Train the Trainer" event and who is listed on the list of approved 
trainers:  http://salcat.dpi.wi.gov/refloan/edu_sbstrainers.asp. The SBS Prevention 
curriculum is included in the non-credit Department-approved entry-level course 
“Introduction to the Child Care Profession” (1 of 2 courses required for Regular 
Certification) and “Fundamentals of Infant and Toddler Care” (required for providers 
caring for infants/toddlers in licensed programs). If a provider has taken either of these 
Department-approved courses after July 1, 2005, they have met the SBS Prevention 
training requirement. 

Interim Pre-Training Option 

Prior to completing an in-person Department-approved training, a child care provider 
may complete an interim pre-training option by completing an on-line course or by 
viewing an approved video. Within 6 months after completing the interim pre-training 
option, the certified operator or other provider must complete the Department-
approved in-person/face-to-face SBS Prevention training. The qualified videos are: 

• Portrait of Promise: The 11 minute video is in English, Spanish, Hmong, Somali and 
can be borrowed from the Child Care Information Center (www.ccic.wi.gov or 1-800-
362-7353) or purchased from Midwest Children’s Resource Center—call Melinda at 651-
220-6651—and the National Center on Shaken Baby Syndrome at www.dontshake.org 
or https://secure.dontshake.org/buymaterials/items.php?cid=3. 

 



• Never Shake a Baby – What Parents and Caregivers Need to Know: The 18-minute 
video is in English and French and is available from http://www.nevershakeababy.org. 
Click on the words “Click to read more” under the heading “Streaming Versions Now 
Available.” View Parts 1 and 2. 

• New York Loves Safe Babies: The 30 minute video is in English and Spanish and also 
includes information on SIDS. It can be ordered from New York State or watched as a 
webcast http://www.ocfs.state.ny.us/main/prevention/tips.asp. 

Applicants for certification should consult with their certification worker/certification 
agency for more information regarding the SBS Prevention pre-training option. 

Remember: Within 6 months after completing the interim pre-training option, the 
certified operator or other provider/caregiver must complete the Department-
approved in-person/face-to-face SBS Prevention training. 
 
Questions 
To learn more about SBS Prevention training requirements please visit the Frequently Asked 
Questions and Answers for Child Care Providers:  
http://ccic.dpi.wi.gov/edu_shakeprevention_faq 

The Registry Statewide Training Calendar: https://www.the-
registry.org/myregistry/default.aspx. 

DCF approved agencies offering non-credit courses: 
http://dcf.wisconsin.gov/childcare/licensed/pdf/AgencyList.pdf 
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